top of page
webpage banner_SHIFT climate commitment_v2.jpg

Instigated by the members of the Shift CEO Forum, with the sole purpose of driving positive climate action across the cycling industry, the Shift Climate Commitment was launched on 1st November 2021.

This commitment, in the form of a letter to the industry, is an urgent appeal to acknowledge the cycling industry’s responsibility in reaching the UN Paris Agreement targets on Climate Change, and to do so collectively.

The letter contains two commitments:

  1. Report: Signatories commit to disclosing their carbon impacts by measuring Scope 1 and 2 Greenhouse Gas (GHG) emissions, in accordance with the GHG Protocol, by 2023 (latest) and will continue to do so on an annual basis.

  2. Reduce: Signatories commit to disclosing their plans to reduce GHG emissions by at least 55% by 2030 (against a baseline of no earlier than 2015)


We recognise that neither of these commitments are particularly groundbreaking, however if every company and their suppliers do these two things - the combined impact will be enormous

Since its launch, and based on feedback from signatories, the Climate Commitment has proved to be an effective tool and great starting point for companies to accelerate their climate agenda.


In 2024, we updated the commitment to allow other companies to sign it also after 2023.

Please note signatories are required to be on CEO level

Founding signatories:

Assos of Switzerland                    

BMC Switzerland AG                



Dorel Sports Group     

Haro Bikes USA         

Internetstores Holding GmbH        


Derek Bouchard-Hall, CEO

David Zurcher, CEO

Will Butler-Adams OBE, CEO

Wade Wallace , Founder

Peter Woods, CEO

Jayu Yang, CEO

Thomas Spengler, MD


Riese & Müller GmbH                 

ROSE Bikes GmbH                           


Selle Royal Group                            

Specialized Bicycle Components 

Vittoria S.p.A.                                   

Simon Mottram, Founder 

Dr. Sandra Wolf, CEO

Thorsten Heckrath-Rose, MD

Frank Bohle, President & CEO

Barbara Bigolin, CEO

Mike Sinyard, Founder & CEO

Stijn Vriends, President & CEO

All other signatories:

Ampler Bikes
antidot. bikecare
Apidura Ltd.
Ass Savers AB
Belgian Cycling Factory (Ridley/Eddy Merckx)
Ciclo Fapril S.A.
Comova Cycling
CSS Composites
Cycles Revolution SAS
Cycling Connection
Cycling Unlimited/Tour de Suisse
De Geus BV
Donhou Bicycles
DŌST Bikes Inc.
E BIKE Advanced Technologies GmbH
Fazua GmbH
Flybike Asia Sports Equipment Co. Ltd.
Frog Bikes
Herrmans Bike Components Ltd
Ideal Bike Corporation
Jakroo Custom Apparel
Knog Pty Ltd.
lifeCYCLE Magazine
Marin Mountain Bikes Inc.
Miranda & Irmão Lda
myStromer AG
Negative Split Carbon
New Motion Labs
Orbit360 GmbH
Outside Inc.   
Pacenti Cycle Design
Pacific Cycles Inc.
Pas Normal Studios
Presca Ltd.
Quality Bicycle Products (QBP)
Repack Bike Shop
reTyre AS
Ribble Cycles
Ride Electric   
RideGuard c/o Jabeda Ltd.
Rodi & Triangles
Saint Piran Pro Cycling    
Schindelhauer Bikes
Spoon Group Ltd.
SR SunTour
SRAM Bicycle Components
Tange Seiki Co. Ltd.
Tentech Composite
Two Three Bird
Twotone Consulting BV
UPL Service GmbH
Vaude Sport GmbH & Co. KG
Veloplus AG
We Bike Italy
woom GmbH
XDS Carbon Tech (Shenzhen) Co. Ltd.
8bar bikes
Ardo Kaurit, CEO & Co-founder
Frank Schnipper, MD
Tori Fahey, Founder
Staffan Widell, CEO & Founder
Jochim Aerts, CEO
Matthias Höfer, Co-Founder & CEO
Vital Almeida, CEO
Steve Zavestoski, Founder
Jimmy Seear, Co-founder
Jérôme Communal, CEO & Co-founder
Sander Kolsloot, Founder
Joko Vogel & Olivier Senn, CEO & Founder
Mark Sutton, Founding Editor
Thomas Vanderhoydonck, CEO
Thomas Donhou, Founder
Sam Atakhanov, CEO & Founder
Helge von Fugler, CEO
David Hancock, CEO
Johannes Biechele, CEO & Founder
Li Wenjie, CEO
Jerry & Shelley Lawson, Co-founders
Martin Krøyer, CEO
Dan Liljeqvist, CEO
Hermes Chang, Chairman
Tim Bundegaard-Goodall, CEO
Wayne Du, CEO & Founder
Hugo Davidson, CEO
Chris Kruitbosch, CEO
Martin Donat & Stephan Peters, CEO & Founder
J. Matthew VanEnkevort, CEO
João Miranda, CEO
Oliver Pepper, Founder
Jakob Luksch, CEO
Javier Garcia, CEO & Founder
Marcel Fowler, Founder
Raphael Albrecht, CEO
Hugo Davidson, CEO & Co-founder
Luke Humphreys, Owner
Michael Lin, CEO
Peter Lange, CEO & Founder
Timo Hyppönen, CEO & Co-founder
Rob Webbon, CEO
Jesper Lundqvist, CEO & Founder
Richard Tauer, President & CEO
Jason Evans, Duncan McRobert, Co-founders
Richard Zirkl, CEO & Co-founder
Chase Wreyford, Founder
Paul Magne Amundsen, CEO & Founder
Andy Smallwood, CEO
Craig Goff-Cooper, Founder
Ben Gaby, Founder & CEO
Armando Levy, CEO & Founder
Richard Pascoe, Owner & Founder
Jörg Schindelhauer, Co-founder
Jasper Ockeloen, CEO & Founder
Andy Carr, CEO & Founder
Tom Segunda, Senior Manager
Ken Lousberg, CEO
Mars Holwerda, Founder
Sato Tange, President
Phil Chang, CEO
Theo Grobler, CEO & Co-founder
Jon Woodroof, Owner & Founder
Thomas Ramge & Marco Wolf, CEO
Antje von Dewitz, CEO
Pierre Regnier, CEO & Co-Founder
Dominique Metz, CEO
Alessandro Ferrio, Founder
Mathias Ihlenfeld, CEO
Tan Weikun, CEO
Stefan Schott, CEO & Founder

 Moving from ambition to action

Icon Climate commitment 360kb.jpg
Climate Action Roadmap visual_CC_edited.jpg

To help the signatories of the Climate Commitment and any other organisation in the cycling world, to move from ambition into action mode, we launched the Climate Action Roadmap for the cycling industry at the end of 2023.
The Roadmap provides cycling companies of any size with guidance on the steps they can take to move their climate agenda forward.
The Roadmap is not a race. It is a tool to help as many companies as possible with taking meaningful climate action. As an individual company and in collaboration with others.

Share the Climate Commitment


To motivate as many companies in the cycling industry to commit to the Letter, we encourage both companies and individuals to share the Climate Commitment with their network.

Share now (click and right click image on the left to download)

bottom of page